



# FOR EXCELLENCE IN THE PERFORMANCE OF AIRPORT AND ICE CONTROL

## FOR IMMETIATE RELEASE

At the 57th Annual International Aviation Snow Symposium on April 28th 2025 in Buffalo, NY; awards were presented to the "Snow Crews" of the airports in North America and military bases worldwide for their dedicated efforts in maintaining their airports in safe and operational status during the 2024-25 winter season. This is the 49<sup>th</sup> consecutive year that such awards are presented. All categories of airports – Commercial, General Aviation and Military - compete for these awards.

Applications are submitted by the airport operators on behalf of the local work force in recognition of their efforts in keeping the airports operationally safe at all times. Recommendations for selection may come from the users of airports, airlines, pilots, general aviation, the military and the entire aviation community. In addition, the members of the Awards Selection Committee provide feedback from their own organizations as to the performance of competing airports.

The 2024 – 2025 awards were presented to the following airports:

## Large Commercial (Over 200,000 operations per year)

#### Winner:

Denver International Airport - Denver, Colorado

#### Honorable Mention:

Boston Logan International Airport, East Boston, Massachusetts Minneapolis-Saint Paul International Airport, St. Paul, Minnesota

#### Medium Commercial (100.000 to 200.000 operations per year)

#### Winner:

Pittsburgh International Airport, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

## Honorable Mention:

Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport, Erlanger, Kentucky

## Small Commercial (Less than 100.000 operations per year )

#### Winner:

Syracuse Hancock International Airport, Syracuse, New York

# Honorable Mention:

Norfolk International Airport, Norfolk, VA

**PRESIDENT** Derek Martin, A.A.E.

VICE PRESIDENT Sean Hammer, A.A.E.

**TREASURER** Stephen Williams, A.A.E.

**SECRETARY** Paul Brean, A.A.E.,

**PAST PRESIDENT** Darren Large, A.A.E

## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

Keiva Rodriques, PE, C.M. Kellyann Valentine, A.A.E. Chris Dougherty, A.A.E. Shon Dempsey, A.A.E. Ryan Collins, C.M., ACE Nick McLaughlin, P.E.

### AAAE NATIONAL DIRECTORS

Melinda Montgomery, A.A.E. Ed Foster, A.A.E.

#### **REGIONAL EXAMINER**

James Pacansky, MBA, CPA, A.A.E.





### Large General Aviation (Over 50,000 operations per year)

Winner: Allegheny County Airport, West Mifflin, Pennsylvania

Honorable Mention: Centennial Airport, Englewood, Colorado

### Military Airport

**Winner:** 52 Civil Engineer Squadron, Spangdalem Air Base, Germany

Honorable Mention: 673 Civil Engineer Group, Joint Base Elmendorf-Fort Richardson, Alaska

##END##

For additional information and past winners of this prestigious award, visit:

http://www.necaaae.org

<u>Awards Selection Committee</u> Tim Haizlip, A.A.E, ACE NEC/AAAE – Chairman

Preston Bnedyk, DAF Tyndall AFB

Adam Williams Aircraft owners & Pilot Association

**Regional Airline Association** 

Alex Gertsen, C.M, ACE National Business Aviation Association

#### Richard P. DeiTos, JR. Metropolitan Washington Airlines Committee

Andrew Sousa / Captain Jeffrey Sedin Air Line Piolots Association

Adam Williams Aircraft Owners & Pilots Association

Megan Eisenstein National Air Transport Association